To Top



The International General Certificate of Secondary Education is offered by the University of Cambridge Assessment International Examination (CAIE)

It is equivalent to Grade X of CBSE/ICSE.

Aims & Objectives

  • To not only build knowledge and understanding but also learning and thinking skills that help students to become independent learners and equip them for life.
  • To provide high quality, leading edge qualifications that meet the ongoing demands of employers and educators worldwide.
  • To cater to children of the increasingly mobile workforce of international corporations.

Structure / Examination

  • IGCSE examination sessions are conducted in in February, May and October with results are released in May, August and January respectively.
  • IGCSE is generally taught as a two year course leading to examination in the year 10.
  • To take account of students differing ability levels, in most subjects there is a choice between Core and Extended curriculum.
  • Schools can offer any combination of subjects from 70 available subjects offering a variety of routes for learners of different abilities.


As a skills based curriculum, IGCSE uses a wide range of assessment processes and techniques as an effective and appropriate means of measuring attainment.

The assessment pattern complements formal written examinations with

  • Orals
  • Listening
  • Practical
  • Projects
  • Coursework

English Language is compulsory. Students ideally choose 5 or 6 subjects from the list of subjects offered.

An eight-point scale of grades is used

Grade Percentage
A* 90 %
A 80 %
B 70 %
C 60 %
D 50 %
E 40 %
F 30 %
G 20 %
U Below 20%

Salient Features

  • Cambridge IGCSE encourages learner-centered and enquiry-based approaches to learning hence developing learners’ skills in creative thinking, problem solving and enquiry.
  • It promotes use of methodology which equips the learners to use technology, work in collaboration, identify cross curricular connections allowing schools to build a world-class curriculum.
  • It is compatible with other curricula and is internationally relevant and sensitive to different needs and cultures.

Subjects Offered

In order to obtain IGCSE certificate the students have to appear in any 5 subjects from any of the following categories :

  • Language
  • Humanities
  • Sciences
  • Mathematics
  • Creative, Technical and Vocational Trainings

If the student is able to pursue 7 subjects (two languages and one each from the remaining four groups and one more from any other group), then the student is able to procure the prestigious group award ICE (International Certificate of Education)

After Grade 10

  • Cambridge international AS and A levels are internationally benchmarked qualifications providing excellent qualification for university education.
  • It is created specifically for an international audience
  • Schools can offer almost any combination of the wide choice of subjects available.
  • Learners can choose from a range of assessment options.

In a nutshell…

  • The IGCSE Programme is broad and balanced. It attempts to hone skills like critical thinking, investigation, independent learning, intercultural understanding, problem solving, creativity, reflecting etc. – skills required for life and by employers across the world.